Gov. Jerry Brown Wednesday will sign legislation that provides for the minimum wage in California to rise from the current $8 per hour to $10 by 2016.
Two signing ceremonies are on the schedule. In the first, the governor will be joined by business owners and legislators as he signs Assembly Bill 10 in the auditorium of the Ronald Reagan State Building on Spring Street in downtown L.A. The second ceremony will take place at noon at the Cypress Mandela Training Center in Oakland.
The new law will have a high impact on California, which is reported to have the nation's largest number of the so-called working poor.
The Golden State already offers a minimum wage above the federal minimum, which was at $7.25 effective July 24, 2009. Click here to see a history of federal minimum wage rates and click here to see a history of California's minimum wage rates.
What do you think about the new California law? Is the wage too much, too little or just right? How will it affect our services?
Let us know in the comments below!
—Local Editor Renee Schiavone and City News Service contributed to this report.